Utah Sales Tax
It has been seen that including the state base sales tax and local taxes the aggregate rate of sales tax in Utah varies from 5.5% to 7.0%. From 1st January 2007, according to the state legislature decision, Utah sales tax on the food products and food ingredients has been reduced to 2.75 percent from 4.75 percent.
If not exempted from the sales taxation, the purchase or transaction of any tangible private product or service is taxable in Utah. Due to legislative actions taken from the state level in Utah, the tax laws may change frequently in the state.
Utah State Tax Commission is the authoritative body to assess, implement and collect the sales tax in the state of Utah. Any business body wishing to do trading of any taxable product or service in the state has to get a sales tax license from the Utah State Tax Commission.
Billing and collection of all types of taxes including sales tax is the prime responsibility of the Utah State Tax Commission. On the failure of sales tax payments the commission imposes penalties and interest on the specific individual or firm. If the sales tax return is not filed by the due date or even not within the extension period in Utah, a penalty of $20 or the ten percent of the outstanding balance, whichever is greater, is assessed in Utah. If the taxpayers fail to pay the sales tax then also a penalty is charged. In case of failure to pay the sale tax, a penalty of $20 or the ten percent of the outstanding tax balance, whichever is greater, is assessed in Utah. In case when the failure to file penalty is assessed, the failure to pay penalty is not assessed on that business until 90 days after the due date of return. If the return is not filed within 90 days, both the penalties are assessed on that business.
Some other most common services provided by the Utah State Tax Commission are online tax payment in Utah, online sales tax filing in Utah, business registration in Utah and online vehicle renewal.
More Information Related to Tax
Last Updated on : 5th July 2013